New exhibition opens on March 6 at 7pm

kim? Contemporary Art Centre invites you to the opening of the exhibition Society Acts – Version 2. After Moderna Exhibition 2014 in collaboration with Moderna Museet Malmö.

Opening and it accompanying performance by Henning Lundkvist will take place at kim? Contemporary Art Centre on March 6 at 7pm-9pm.

Publicitātes foto

Publicitātes foto

Exhibition is organized by Moderna Museet Malmö, Sweden in collaboration with kim? Contemporary Art Centre

Curator: Andreas Nilsson
Co-curator: Maija Rudovska
Assistant curator: Julia Björnberg
March 7 – April 19, 2015

Just as interactions in society are based on a mix of historical experiences and current demands, the artists in the exhibition Society Acts move between perceived experiences and dreamed aspirations. The exhibition’s title – Society Acts – is to be understood as a comprehensive and transparent concept, where acts refers to visible and invisible movement, social action and to performative gesture. Questions of private and collective identities, political expressions, and personal reflections take shape in the exhibition. The artists question and challenge the public realm, the institutional spaces, and the boundary between fiction and documentary. Many of the works in the exhibition discuss the role of the city, the spatial and social relationship, as well as settings and the conditions of behavior, that have been framed by particular institutions and spaces.

An extended version of the exhibition Society Acts was first presented at Moderna Museet Malmö in the exhibition series The Moderna Exhibition, which historically has been Moderna Museet’s inventory of Swedish contemporary art. Unlike the two previous exhibitions, the selection for Society Acts was widened geographically beyond Sweden, to include artists from a large part of the Baltic region, and also included historical elements.


AaBbPp, Cezary Bodzianowski, Eglė Budvytytė & Bart Groenendaal, Zenta Dzividzinska, Johanna Gustafsson Fürst, Joachim Hamou, Laura Kaminskaitė, Essi Kausalainen, Anna Lundh, Henning Lundkvist, Maija Luutonen, Miks Mitrēvics & Kristīne Kursiša, Michala Paludan, Lea Porsager, Emily Roysdon, Imri Sandström, Janek Simon, Ola Ståhl & Terje Östling.